Football: Coach Kirelawich Receives Honors

  • By FootballScoop.com
  • |
  • December 16, 2010 12:07 PM
  • |
FootballScoop is proud to announce that Bill Kirelawich (West Virginia) is the 2010 FootballScoop Defensive Line Coach of the Year presented by SpeedTracs.

Veteran coach Bill Kirelawich guided a defensive front that helped West Virginia finish 2nd nationally in rushing defense (85 YPG) and 3rd nationally in scoring defense (12.7 PPG). The foursome of Chris Neild, Scooter Berry, Julian Miller, and Bruce Irvin combined for a remarkable 27 sacks. In his first year out of junior college, Irvin recorded 12 sacks with a forced fumble. Neild earned First Team All-Big East, while Berry and Irvin earned Second Team All-Big East honors.

West Virginia led the nation in opponent touchdown percentage inside the red zone (30%). The Mountaineers allowed just one rushing touchdown on twenty drives in the red zone. Consider this, West Virginia allowed just 33 runs of 10+ yards the entire season, third fewest in the country. The dominant group up front helped limit opponents to just 251 total yards per game.

Head coach Bill Stewart told FootballScoop, "I am proud of Bill for receiving this great honor. He is the best in the business and this honor is very well deserved. He has done a great job for our defense and his players take on his passion for the game. He is a football coach to his inner core and has spent his entire life helping young student-athletes develop into better players and men."

West Virginia finished 9-3 and earned a trip to the Champs Sports Bowl in Orlando, where the Mountaineers will play NC State on December 28th.

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Kirelawich, Craig Kuligowski - Missouri and Dan Brooks and Chris Rumph - Clemson) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. A panel of coaches including previous recipients determined the 2010 winners.

Previous winners of the Defensive Line Coach of the Year award are Dick Bumpas (TCU, 2008) and Jim Panagos (Central Florida, 2009).

Key Stats
Three All-BIG EAST Defensive Linemen

Second Nationally in Scoring Defense (12.7 ppg)

Second Nationally in Rushing Defense (85 ypg)

Third Nationally in Total Defense (251 ypg)

Third Nationally in Sacks (3.33 per game)

Volleyball - 08/16/17
Five Sets with Taylor Tedesky
Women's Basketball - 08/15/17
Statement on Tynice Martin Injury
Football - 08/14/17
Simms Suspended
Volleyball - 08/08/17
Five Sets with Coach Rudnick