Mozes Wins Rimington

  • By WVUsports.com
  • |
  • December 07, 2006 04:43 PM
  • |
  Dan Mozes  
DALLAS - West Virginia University center Dan Mozes is the unanimous recipient of the 2006 Rimington Trophy, given annually to the nation's most outstanding center in college football. The announcement was made today by the Rimington committee.

Mozes will be recognized as the winner at The Home Depot College Football Awards show, broadcast live on ESPN, in Orlando, Florida on December 7, 2006. This will be the first time since its acceptance into the National College Football Awards Association that the winner of the Rimington Trophy will be announced on the show. The annual Rimington Trophy awards banquet will be held at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 13, 2007.

"It feels great. It’s such a big accomplishment to be here and to win this award. You know, after going from guard to center last year and being a finalist last year too, this is unbelievable. My guys did a heck of a lot helping me out this year and it just shows how far we’ve come," Mozes said.

As a senior center, Mozes led the West Virginia offensive line by paving the way for the Mountaineers running game to post over 3,600 total rushing yards this season. Mozes also provided a formidable defense against the opposing pass rush, allowing his offensive line to give up only 1.17 sacks per game.

"We are very pleased to award Dan Mozes the 2006 Rimington Trophy. He and the West Virginia Mountaineers had a marvelous season this year, as is evident in their 10-2 record. Dan's leadership on the football field once again demonstrates how vital the center position is in the game of football. We are proud to add Dan's name to the list of distinguished college football centers. Congratulations to all the watch list candidates, finalists, and of course to Dan," Dave Rimington said.

Mozes will line up once more for the Mountaineers against Georgia Tech in the Toyota Gator Bowl, which will take place on January 1, 2007 in Jacksonville, Florida. He is the first West Virginia University player to win a major college football award.

About the Rimington Trophy

The seven-year old trophy is presented by Canon, The Cornhusker Marriott, and Logitech. Past recipients include Dominic Raiola (Nebraska), LeCharles Bentley (Ohio State), Brett Romberg (Miami), Jake Grove (Virginia Tech), co-winners David Baas (Michigan) and Ben Wilkerson (LSU), and Greg Eslinger (Minnesota). Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $700,000 for its benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. It, in turn, is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation which, to date, has raised over $40 million for Cystic Fibrosis research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-American center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982. During this time, he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The Rimington Trophy is a fully accredited member of the National College Football Awards Association.