Gyorko Earns Brooks Wallace Award

  • July 03, 2010 09:42 AM
  • |
July 3, 2010

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – West Virginia University junior shortstop Jedd Gyorko earned the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year award, presented by Mizuno, at the 2010 College Baseball Awards Shows in Lubbock, Texas, late Friday night. Each of the four awards were presented by the College Baseball Foundation.

  Jedd Gyorko, pictured here with West Virginia University baseball coach Greg Van Zant, was named the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year award winner.
Submitted photo

WVU coach Greg Van Zant said Gyorko was a player any coach could be proud to have on his team.

"He meant everything to our team," Van Zant said. “Jedd is a terrific player and an even better person. He was highly touted this year and knew he would get a lot of attention, but even with that, he passed more hours in the fall than any player on the team. In the spring, with all that was going on around him, he finished with a 3.7 GPA in management."

Recently, the Morgantown native was named a first team All-American by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, and also earned second team All-America honors from Collegiate Baseball Newspaper, Baseball America and the American Baseball Coaches Association. Gyorko finished the 2010 campaign with a .381 batting average, a school-record 19 home runs, 57 RBIs, 28 doubles, 90 base hits, 71 runs scored and 177 total bases.

The other awards presented at the show consisted of the pitcher of the year award, the two-way player of the year award and the Dick Howser Trophy.

“This is truly an exceptional night for college baseball,” said Raymond Richardson, awards show chairman and CBF board member. “We are thrilled to get the chance to honor these amazing young men and acknowledge their accomplishments in the game of baseball.”

Skip Bertman, a member of the 2006 College Baseball Hall of Fame class, spoke about the importance of baseball in the lives of many people and the impact it can have on the lives of players.

"This game is about heart,” he said. “The feeling you have when you have a cause that is greater than yourself. This game is just like life – you gotta work. You have to be smart to play baseball. You must learn to overcome failure because you will fail. You gotta get up and face the changes. This is a great game that never forgets. To you award winners, play the game hard, remember you represent your family, your college, the team you’re with and your maker. Play like a champion.”

During the awards show, the CBF presented the first John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award, sponsored by Washington State University. Don Heinkel, a member of the 2010 College Baseball Hall of Fame class presented the award to Mike McGee of Florida State.

"This award honors not only what the annual winner accomplishes, but also the legacy that John Olerud created during his college baseball career at Washington State,” Richardson said. “We are so happy to be able to present this award for the first time to Mike McGee, who is a great example of what this award represents."

The Pitcher of the Year Award, sponsored by Diamond, was given to Alex Wimmers, a right-handed pitcher from Ohio State.

"Alex is a great talent and one thing about him, like all good players, when Alex was on the mound, he made his teammates better,” said recently retired Ohio State coach Bob Todd. “He has knack of knowing what pitch to throw. He keeps hitter of strikes. It’s a joy to watch him.”

The final presentation of the night was the presentation of the 24th annual Dick Howser Trophy, founded by the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce and voted on by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association. The award is sponsored by the Easton Foundations.

The winner of the Howser Trophy was Anthony Rendon, a sophomore third baseman from Rice.

"His ability was obvious but his character stood out," said Wayne Graham, Rendon’s coach. "He’s been a leader from the moment he stepped on campus. He’s poetry in motion. He brings such a great attitude. I just make sure I get the lineup right, that I’ve got his number on there and his name spelled right."

Rendon said he was humbled to be a part of such illustrious company.

"It’s pretty amazing to win the Heisman Trophy of college baseball," Rendon said. "How much better can you get?"

The awards show also provided an opportunity for several other organizations to present their awards. Representatives of the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission presented the Johnny Bench Award to Bryan Holaday of TCU.

The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association presented its awards — the Stopper of the Year Award and the Coach of the Year.

The Stopper of the Year Award was presented to Chance Ruffin of Texas. Jim Schlossnagle of TCU won the Coach of the Year title.

Jedd Gyorko wins the Brooks Wallace Award

Women's Soccer - 08/18/17
No. 1 WVU Opens with Big Win
Women's Soccer - 08/19/17
Promotional Slate Unveiled
Volleyball - 08/18/17
2017 Volleyball Season Outlook