Men's Basketball: Jones Makes Midseason List

  • By USBWA
  • |
  • February 06, 2012 01:16 PM
  • |
ST. LOUIS (USBWA) - The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected 20 outstanding players for its 2012 Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List. Members of the association's board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, to be presented to the national player of the year by its namesake in New Orleans at the USBWA's College Basketball Awards Breakfast on March 30.

Three North Carolina teammates and a pair of Kentucky freshman headline the list. The Tar Heel trio of Harrison Barnes, John Henson and Tyler Zeller join Wildcat first-year phenoms Anthony Davis and Michael Kidd-Gilchrist. The list also includes Indiana's Cody Zeller, Tyler's younger brother.

Three Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week from this season are featured as well: Damian Lillard from Weber State, Doug McDermott from Creighton and Thomas Robinson of Kansas. Last season's Wayman Tisdale Award winner as the National Freshman of the Year, Jared Sullinger of Ohio State, is also among the players to watch down the stretch.

Overall, the list is balanced by class with five seniors, six juniors, six sophomores and three freshmen appearing. The Atlantic Coast Conference and Southeastern Conference each boast four players on the list to lead all conferences, while a total of nine conferences are represented.

Following is the complete watch list:

F Harrison Barnes, North Carolina (6-8, 215, So., Ames, Iowa)
G Isaiah Canaan, Murray State (6-0, 193, Jr., Biloxi, Miss.)
F Anthony Davis, Kentucky (6-10, 220, Fr., Chicago, Ill.)
G Marcus Denmon, Missouri (6-3, 185, Sr., Kansas City, Mo.)
F Draymond Green, Michigan State (6-7, 230, Sr., Saginaw, Mich.)
F John Henson, North Carolina (6-11, 220, Jr., Tampa, Fla.)
G John Jenkins, Vanderbilt (6-4, 220, Jr., Hendersonville, Tenn.)
F Kevin Jones, West Virginia (6-8, 260, Sr., Mount Vernon, N.Y.)
F Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Kentucky (6-7, 232, Fr., Somerdale, N.J.)
G/F Jeremy Lamb, Connecticut (6-5, 180, So., Norcross, Ga.)
F Perry Jones III, Baylor (6-11, 235, So., Duncanville, Texas)
G Damian Lillard, Weber State (6-3, 195, Jr., Oakland, Calif.)
F Doug McDermott, Creighton (6-7, 220, So., Ames, Iowa)
F Mike Moser, UNLV (6-8, 210, So., Portland, Ore.)
F Arnett Moultrie, Mississippi State (6-11, 249, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.)
F Thomas Robinson, Kansas (6-10, 230, Jr., Washington, D.C.)
F Mike Scott, Virginia (6-8, 237, Sr., Chesapeake, Va.)
F Jared Sullinger, Ohio State (6-9, 280, So., Columbus, Ohio)
F Cody Zeller, Indiana (6-11, 230, Fr., Washington, Ind.)
C Tyler Zeller, North Carolina (7-0, 250, Sr., Washington, Ind.)

By conference: ACC (4); SEC (4); Big Ten (3); Big 12 (3); Big East (2); Big Sky (1); Missouri Valley (1); Mountain West (1); Ohio Valley (1).

By class: Seniors (5); Juniors (6); Sophomores (6); Freshmen (3).

While these standout players are the leading contenders to be named to the USBWA's All-America Team and as finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, all Division I players remain eligible for postseason honors from the USBWA. The association will announce its 2012 All-America Team in mid-March. At that time, finalists will also be chosen for the player of the year. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

Women's Soccer - 08/18/17
Georgetown Kick Adjusted
Football - 08/17/17
Video Board Unveiling
Women's Soccer - 08/17/17
WVU's Abam Primed For Big Senior Season