Men's Basketball: Jones on Naismith List

  • By Carl Jonathan
  • |
  • February 29, 2012 04:02 PM
  • |
ATLANTA – From Creighton to Weber State, players from universities in mid-major conferences make up nearly a third of the players to watch this season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today with the release of its Naismith Men’s Basketball Player of the Year Award presented
by AT&T Midseason 30 Watch List.

The midseason 30 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the 2011-12 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy, presented by AT&T, will be awarded at the 2012 NCAA Men’s Final Four in New Orleans.

“With mid-major conference player Jimmer Fredette winning last year’s award and mid-major players making up nearly a third of this year’s list, it just goes to show that great basketball talent is everywhere,”
said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director. “We’re anticipating another great year of competition and wish luck to all the players on the list heading into the home stretch of the college
basketball season.”

Additionally in the running are two players each from Kentucky, Missouri, North Carolina and Syracuse, along with 2010 Naismith High School Boy’s Player of the Year Jared Sullinger, now a sophomore at The Ohio State University. Outside of mid-majors, the SEC and Big 12 boast the most nominees with five each, while the Big East and Big Ten each have four.
Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for 25 percent
of all of the final results – more than any other national college basketball award.

Beginning this month, CBS’ coverage of college basketball will include the “AT&T at the Half” segment featuring a “Naismith Watch” update highlighting the players in contention for the award.

“AT&T is proud to give college basketball fans a chance to voice their opinion on who they think deserves the 2012 Men’s Naismith Trophy,” said Jamie Kerr, Director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. “This year’s
strong group of student-athletes mixed with ever-passionate fans will definitely make this a close competition.”

Notable former Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year winners include Bill Walton, Johnny Dawkins, Tim Duncan, Kevin Durant and last year’s recipient, Fredette. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s player of the year.

2012 Naismith Trophy Midseason 30
Barnes, Harrison, North Carolina, Forward
Barton, Will, Memphis, Forward
Boynton, Kenny, Florida, Guard
Canaan, Isaiah, Murray State, Guard
Davis, Anthony, Kentucky, Forward
Dellavedova, Matthew, St. Mary's, Guard
Denmon, Marcus, Missouri, Guard
Green, Draymond, Michigan State, Forward
Henson, John, North Carolina, Forward
Jenkins, John, Vanderbilt, Guard
Johnson-Odom, Darius, Marquette, Guard
Jones, Kevin, West Virginia, Forward
Jones III, Perry, Baylor, Forward-Center
Joseph, Kris, Syracuse, Forward
Kidd-Gilchrist, Michael, Kentucky, Forward
Lillard, Damian, Weber State, Guard
Machado, Scott, Iona, Guard
McDermott, Doug, Creighton, Forward
Morrison, Dominique, Oral Roberts, Forward
Moser, Mike, UNLV, Forward
Moultrie, Arnett, Mississippi State, Forward
Pressey, Phil, Missouri, Guard
Robinson, Thomas, Kansas, Forward
Scott, Mike, Virginia, Forward
Sullinger, Jared, Ohio State, Forward
Taylor, Jordan, Wisconsin, Guard
Waiters, Dion, Syracuse, Guard
White, Royce, Iowa State, Forward
Wroten, Tony, Washington, Guard
Zeller, Cody, Indiana, Center

Men's Swimming & Diving - 07/20/17
Swimming and Diving Announces 13 Newcomers
Women's Basketball - 07/20/17
Caldwell Returns to WVU as Assistant Coach