WVU's Kevin Jones USBWA All-American

  • By Joe Mitch
  • |
  • March 12, 2012 12:06 PM
  • |
ST. LOUIS – Ten standout players representing seven conferences have been selected to the 2011-12 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Team. The first team consists of five forwards, as the USBWA selects the nation's top five players regardless of position. Ohio State sophomore Jared Sullinger, last season's winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award as the National Freshman of the Year, is the lone repeat selection.

Sullinger, who averaged 17.6 points and 9.3 rebounds per game, is joined by freshman phenom Anthony Davis of Kentucky, was has led the Wildcats to the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament with 14.3 points, 10.0 rebounds and 4.6 blocks per game. Michigan State senior Draymond Green (16.1 ppg, 10.4 rpg) sparked the Spartans to the Big Ten tournament title and a No. 1 seed, while Creighton's sharp-shooting sophomore Doug McDermott (23.2 ppg, 8.2 rpg, 61.0 field goal percentage, 49.5 3-point field goal percentage) and Kansas' junior upstart Thomas Robinson (17.9 ppg, 11.8 rpg) have also earned first-team honors.

The second team consists of Murray State junior guard Isaiah Canaan (19.2 ppg, 3.7 apg), Missouri senior guard Marcus Denmon (17.6 ppg, 5.1 rpg), West Virginia senior forward Kevin Jones (20.1 ppg, 11.1 rpg), Kentucky freshman forward Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (11.8 ppg, 7.6 rpg), and North Carolina senior forward Tyler Zeller (16.5 ppg, 9.3 rpg).

Jones is the first West Virginia player to nab USBWA All-America honors since guard Rod Thorn was named to the team in 1963.

The Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC each boast a pair of All-Americans. Other conferences represented on the All-America team are the ACC, Big East, Missouri Valley and Ohio Valley.

Each of the first-team selections is among the Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award, as well as the Henry Iba Award, presented to the National Coach of the Year, will be announced next Monday, March 19. Both prestigious awards will be formally presented on Friday, March 30, at the 2012 USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast at the New Orleans Marriott in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Final Four.

On Tuesday, the USBWA will announce the winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award to be presented to the national freshman of the year. Both Davis and Kidd-Gilchrist are among the finalists for the honor.

Following is the complete 2011-12 USBWA All-America team:

First Team
Anthony Davis, Kentucky, F
Draymond Green, Michigan State, F
Doug McDermott, Creighton, F
Thomas Robinson, Kansas, F
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State, F

Second Team
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State, G
Marcus Denmon, Missouri, G
Kevin Jones, West Virginia, F
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Kentucky, F
Tyler Zeller, North Carolina, F