Austin AFCA All-American

  • By Vince Thompson
  • |
  • November 28, 2012 10:34 AM
  • |
WACO, TEXAS — West Virginia University senior Tavon Austin was named to the 2012 AFCA FBS Coaches’ All-America Team, announced today by the American Football Coaches Association.

Austin, who made the team as an all-purpose player, is currently ranked second in the country in all-purpose yards per game while leading the Mountaineers with 106 catches to go along with 1,149 yards and 12 touchdowns.

As a ball carrier, Austin shows 521 yards and two touchdowns while also adding more than 800 yards in punt and kickoff returns.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions. What makes these teams so special is that they are the only ones chosen exclusively by the men who know the players the best — the coaches themselves.

2012 AFCA FBS Coaches’ All-America Team


Pos, Name, Ht., Wt., Cl., School
WR, Marqise Lee, 6-0, 195, So., USC
WR, Terrance Williams, 6-2, 205, Sr., Baylor
TE, Zach Ertz, 6-6, 252, Sr., Stanford
OL, Chance Warmack, 6-3, 320, Sr., Alabama
OL, Luke Joeckel, 6-6, 310, Jr., Texas A&M
C, Dalton Freeman, 6-5, 285, Sr., Clemson
OL, Jonathan Cooper, 6-3, 295, Sr., North Carolina
OL, David Yankey, 6-5, 301, Jr., Stanford
QB, Tajh Boyd, 6-1, 225, Jr., Clemson
RB, Kenjon Barner, 5-11, 192, Sr., Oregon
RB, Montee Ball*, 5-11, 215, Sr., Wisconsin


Pos, Name, Ht., Wt., Cl., School

DL, Jadeveon Clowney, 6-6, 256, So., South Carolina
DL, Bjoern Werner, 6-4, 255, Jr., Florida St.
DL, Damontre Moore, 6-4, 250, Jr., Texas A&M
DL, Will Sutton, 6-1, 267, Jr., Arizona St.
LB, Manti Te’o, 6-2, 255, Sr., Notre Dame
LB, Jarvis Jones*, 6-3, 241, Jr., Georgia
LB, C.J. Mosley, 6-2, 232, Jr., Alabama
DB, Eric Reid, 6-2, 212, Jr., LSU
DB, Dee Milliner, 6-1, 199, Jr., Alabama
DB, Jordan Poyer, 6-0, 190, Sr., Oregon St.
DB, Phillip Thomas, 6-1, 215, Sr., Fresno St.


Pos, Name, Ht., Wt., Cl., School

P, Ryan Allen, 6-2, 215, Sr., Louisiana Tech
PK, Quinn Sharp, 6-1, 205, Sr., Oklahoma St.
AP, Tavon Austin, 5-9, 171, Sr., West Virginia

*-2011 All-American

Team Background:?The teams now chosen for each of the AFCA’s five?divisions evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen. From 1967 through 1971, two teams, University Division and College Division, were selected. In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II. In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams — Division I-A and Division I-AA. In 1996, the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II?and Division III,?respectively. In 2006, the Division I-A and Division I-AA teams were renamed Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)?and Football Championship Subdivision (FCS),?respectively. The AFCA started selecting an NAIA All-America Team in 2006.

Top Team: Oklahoma has had the most players named to the AFCA?Coaches’ All-America Team. The Sooners have been represented 61 times by 52 players on the AFCA?team. They are followed by Notre Dame (57/50); Ohio State (57/43); USC (55/48); Michigan (54/48); Alabama (51/50); Nebraska (51/46); Texas (46/40); Georgia (35/29) and UCLA (34/32).

Top Conference: The Big 12 boasts the most AFCA?FBS Coaches’ All-America Team representatives among current conference members with 262, just ahead of the Big Ten at 254 representatives. Following those two are the Southeastern Conference (252), the Pac-12 (183), Atlantic Coast (170), Big East (67), Western Athletic (62), Mountain West (55), Conference USA (51), Sun Belt (40) and Mid-American (30) (Totals include school All-America selections in all divisions).

The 2012 conference-by-conference breakdown:?SEC: 8; Pac-12: 6; ACC:?4; Big 12:?3; Big Ten:?1; MWC: 1; WAC: 1.

Class Distinction:?The 2012 AFCA?Coaches’ All-America Team is made up of 13 seniors, 10 juniors and 2 sophomores.

Repeat After Me: Ohio State has the most players who have been repeat selections (14 players). The Buckeyes are followed by Oklahoma (9); Notre Dame (7); USC (7); Texas (6); Michigan (6); Arkansas (5); Georgia (5); Nebraska (5); Florida State (4); and LSU (4).

Three-Timer: Georgia’s Herschel Walker is the only three-time AFCA FBS?Coaches’ All-American (1980-81-82) in the 68-year history of the team.

Double Duos: Teammates have earned back-to-back Coaches’ All-America honors in the same seasons seven times. USC’s Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush (2004 and 2005) join Army’s Glenn Davis and Doc Blanchard (1945 and 1946); Notre Dame’s George Connor and Johnny Lujack (1946 and 1947); Michigan State’s Bubba Smith and George Webster (1966 and 1967); Ohio State’s Jack Tatum and Jim Stillwagon (1969 and 1970); Notre Dame’s Ken MacAfee and Ross Browner (1976 and 1977) and Colorado’s Joe Garten and Alfred Will­iams (1989 and 1990).

One Player, Two Schools:?Punter Mark Bounds is the only player to earn Coaches’ All-America honors at two different schools. He was named to the AFCA?College Division I?team in 1990 while playing for West Texas A&M. He transferred to Texas Tech after West Texas dropped football and earned I-A All-America honors as a Red Raider in 1991.

Consecutive Years: Notre Dame holds the record for consecutive years with at least one player on the AFCA Coaches’ All-America Team at 19 seasons (1963-1981). Neb­raska had at least one player 12 straight seasons (1978-1989). Michigan (1969-1979), Oklahoma (1971-1981), USC (1972-82) and Miami (Fla.) (1984-1994) are next with 11 straight seasons. Pitts­burgh placed one player on the AFCA team for 10 straight seasons from 1975-1984.

Super Six: Oklahoma’s six selections (Jammal Brown, OL; Jason White, QB; Tommie Harris, DL; Teddy Lehman, LB, Derrick Strait, DB; Antonio Perkins, RS) in 2003 are the most players from one school on the AFCA?FBS Coaches’ All-America Team.

Fantastic Five: Alabama’s five selections (Barrett Jones, OL; Trent Richardson, RB; Dont’a Hightower, LB; Mark Barron, DB; DeQuan Menzie, DB) in 2011 are the second most players from one school on the AFCA?FBS Coaches’ All-America Team.

Quad Squads: Alabama became the seventh team to place four players on the AFCA?All-America Team in 2008 (OL-Andre Smith, C-Antoine Caldwell, DL-Terrence Cody, DB-Rashad Johnson). The others are: 1945 Army: T-DeWitt Coulter, G-John Green, B-Glenn Davis, B-Doc Blanchard; 1966 Notre Dame: LB-Jim Lynch, FB-Nick Eddy, DT-Pete Duranko, OG-Tom Regner; 1967 USC: OT-Ron Yary, LB-Adrian Young, E-Tim Rosso­vich, HB-O.J. Simpson; 1990 Notre Dame: DB-Todd Lyght, DL-Chris Zorich, LB-Mike Stonebreaker, WR-Raghib Ismail; 1999 Florida State:?WR-Peter Warrick, OL-Jason Whitaker, DL-Corey Simon; PK-Sebastian Janikowski; 2005 USC:?WR- Dwayne Jarrett, OL- Taitusi Lutui, QB- Matt Leinart, RB- Reggie Bush.

Army’s four All-Americans in 1945 may be the most impressive showing of the above teams when you take into account the AFCA only selected an 11-player team at that time.

Women's Soccer - 08/19/17
Promotional Slate Unveiled
Women's Soccer - 08/18/17
No. 1 WVU Opens with Big Win
Volleyball - 08/18/17
2017 Volleyball Season Outlook