Eleven Mountaineers Earn Big 12 Award

  • By Shannon McNamara
  • |
  • March 06, 2013 10:53 AM
  • |
MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – Eleven West Virginia University student-athletes were named recipients of the third annual Dr. Gerald Lage award, the Big 12 Conference’s highest academic honor, the conference announced.

The following Mountaineers were honored: Sarah-Anne Brault (track & field/cross country), Kaitlyn Gillespie (track and field/cross country), Liz Gulick (volleyball), Jordan Hamric (track & field/cross country), Jess Harlee (women’s basketball), Emily Mathis (tennis), Aubrey Moskal (track & field/cross country), Ryan Nehlen (football), Rachelle Purych (rowing), Danika Rencken (rowing) and Frances Silva (women’s soccer).

In total, 75 Big 12 student-athletes earned the honor, with Baylor placing a conference-best 14 recipients.

The honor is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).

Lage had been a member of the Oklahoma State family since 1966, when he joined the College of Business Administration as an assistant professor. During his tenure at OSU, he served as the director of graduate studies in the department of economics (1974-77), head of the department of economics and finance (1978-84), director of the OSU Center for International Trade and Development (1985-87) and associate dean for research and graduate programs in the college of business administration (1997-2004).

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of nomination.

The Dr. Gerald Lage award winners will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships.