Student-Athletes Honored For Classroom Work

  • By Bryan Messerly
  • |
  • April 17, 2013 10:59 AM
  • |
MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – A total of 340 West Virginia University student-athletes were recognized for their achievement in the classroom, Tuesday evening, at the annual WVU Student-Athlete Academic Excellence Banquet, honoring recipients of the Garrett Ford Academic Honor Roll.

Implemented in 1989, the Garrett Ford Academic Honor Roll was created to recognize students who have achieved a grade point average of 3.0 or better. Since the program began in 1989, nearly 4,000 student-athletes have earned a place on the honor roll. Ford retired in 2011 after 44 years of service with the WVU Department of Intercollegiate Athletics.

Student-athletes from WVU’s sports teams, in addition to cheerleading and athletic training, gathered at the Waterfront Place Hotel for dinner and acknowledgment of their academic achievements. WVU President Jim Clements and Dr. Elizabeth Dooley, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs at WVU, addressed the student-athletes as speakers. Cross country’s Sarah-Anne Brault represented the student-athletes as a speaker at the event.

Liam McLaughlin of the men’s swimming and diving team received the Male Student-Athlete Community Service Outreach Award, while Ali Connelly of the women’s soccer team received the Female Student-Athlete Community Service Outreach Award. Men’s swimming and diving was recognized with the team award for community service outreach.

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) awarded members that showed appreciation for their leadership and involvement in SAAC. Those winners were: Zach Bargeron and Brady Wilson (baseball); Keaton Miles and Juwan Staten (men’s basketball); Jess Harlee and Averee Fields (women’s basketball); Stephanie Aldea and Kelly Williams (cross country); Nana Twum Agyire and Nate Majnaric (football); Hope Sloanhoffer and Makenzie Bristol (gymnastics); Chance Cover and Meelis Kiisk (rifle); Kelly Kramer and Karen Verwey (rowing); Zack Claudio and Eric Schoenle (men’s soccer); Ali Connelly and Kara Blosser (women’s soccer); David Palley, Liam McLaughlin and Jake Querciagrossa (men’s swimming and diving); Kata Fodor and Breanna McCann (women’s swimming and diving); Emily Mathis and Jade Allen (tennis); Brittney Thomas and Allison Tyree (track and field); Colin Johnston and Nathan Pennesi (wrestling); and Liz Gulick and Evyn McCoy (volleyball).