Field Announced for Puerto Rico Tip-Off

  • By Tim Simmons
  • |
  • November 20, 2013 09:55 AM
  • |
The eight-team field for the 2014 Puerto Rico Tip-Off will feature Boston College, College of Charleston, Connecticut, Dayton, George Mason, New Mexico, Texas A&M and West Virginia.  The eighth playing of this annual event will be held Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 20, 21 and 23, in San Juan, Puerto Rico.
Four of the teams will be making their second appearance in the Puerto Rico Tip-Off:  College of Charleston (2007); Dayton (2009); George Mason (2009) and West Virginia (2010).
The 2014 Puerto Rico Tip-Off will showcase 12 games over the three days.  Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracketed-tournament format.  The undefeated teams after the first two days of competition will face off in the championship game on Sunday Nov. 23.
Previous winners of the Puerto Rico Tip-Off include:  Miami (FL) (2007); Xavier (2008); Villanova (2009); Minnesota (2010); Alabama (2011) and Oklahoma State (2012).  The 2013 champion will be crowned on Sunday Nov. 24, at 6:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2.
For more information, including travel packages, please visit the Puerto Rico Tip-Off website at www.puertoricotipoff.com
The Puerto Rico Tip-Off is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.
ESPN Events - ESPN Events, a division of ESPN Regional Television (ERT), owns and operates a large portfolio of collegiate sporting events worldwide. The roster includes two Labor Day weekend college football games; 11 college bowl games and eight college basketball events, which accounts for approximately 200 hours of programming, reaches almost 64 million viewers and attracts over a half a million attendees each year. With satellite offices in Boise, Birmingham, Dallas-Fort Worth, Albuquerque, St. Petersburg and Las Vegas, ESPN Events builds relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as providing unique experiences for teams and fans.  A subsidiary of ESPN, ERT is also the production headquarters for ESPNU; syndication rights-holder and producer of national and regional shows for college conferences (American, Big 12, Mid-American, SEC) and manages the Big 12 Corporate Partner Program.
Collegiate Basketball - Armed Forces Classic (Camp Humphreys, South Korea); Charleston Classic Presented by Gildan (S.C.); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Jimmy V Men’s & Women’s Basketball Classics presented by Corona Extra (Madison Square Garden & Durham, N.C.); Old Spice Classic (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); Puerto Rico Tip-Off (San Juan, PR); State Farm Champions Classic (United Center, Chicago) and DIRECTV Wooden Legacy (Orange County, Calif.).
For more information, visit www.espnevents.com or follow on Twitter and Facebook.