Tennis Set for Big 12 Championships

  • By Jonathan Hevron
  • |
  • April 23, 2014 03:36 PM
  • |
Ikttesh Chahal
MORGANTOWN, W.Va.  – The West Virginia University tennis team opens play at the Big 12 Women’s Tennis Championships on Thursday, April 24, against Kansas State at 11 a.m. EST, at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center, in Fort Worth, Texas.  
“We are excited and this is the most important part of our season,” says coach Miha Lisac. “This is the time for everything we worked on and learned to come together for a good performance. These are the most important matches, and we are looking forward to playing tomorrow. We have seen Kansas State already and know what to expect.”
The Mountaineers (3-17, 0-9 Big 12) enter the championships as the No. 10 seed. In its last outing, WVU fell to Iowa State at Ridgeview Racquet Club, 5-2, on April 13. Sophomore Hailey Barrett recorded her first singles win against a Big 12 opponent this season, downing Ksenia Pronina, 6-4, 6-4. Barrett also paired up with junior Ikttesh Chahal for their second consecutive win in doubles.
Freshmen Kaja Mrgole and Oana Manole lead the squad in singles, both tallying six wins. The two have teamed up in doubles for a team-high seven victories. They entered the spring season ranked No. 9 in the Mid-Atlantic Region by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).
In the lone meeting between the Wildcats and Mountaineers this season, K-State edged WVU, 4-3, at the ridgeview Racquet Club on March 14. The Mountaineers secured the doubles point with victories from the pair of Barrett and Chahal, along with the sophomore duo of Irinka Toidze and Vivian Tsui. In singles, Manole and Toidze both tallied wins, but it would not be enough to hold off the then-No. 52 Wildcats.
The winner of tomorrow’s matchup will advance to play No. 2-seeded Oklahoma State on Friday, April 25, at 4 p.m. EST.
Baylor comes into the weekend as the No. 1 seed after posting a 21-6 record this spring, including going 9-0 in Big 12 play.
The 2014 Big 12 Women’s Tennis Championships is the first championship hosted by TCU since joining the conference in 2012.