Swimming Earns Nine Scholar All-Americans

  • By Nick Arthur
  • |
  • July 14, 2014 01:44 PM
  • |
WVU's Bryce Bohman was named the Big 12 Conference's Swimmer of the Year this past season. 
MORGANTOWN, W.Va.The College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) announced today the 2014 CSCAA Individual Scholar All-Americans, honoring nine members of the West Virginia University men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams.
“This is one of our largest CSCAA Scholar All-American classes,” says coach Vic Riggs. “As we continue to get better in the pool, so do our academic performances.”
The Mountaineers had three men and six women recognized for their academic and athletic accomplishments this past season.
“Our women’s team’s GPA was the highest among all Big 12 programs, and it’s due to these individuals that helped make it happen,” Riggs says.
Bryce Bohman and Tim Squires earned Scholar All-America First Team distinctions, having achieved a cumulative, or term grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the academic term coinciding with their respective NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA/CCCAA Swimming and Diving Championships and having qualified for and competed at the Championship.
Liam McLaughlin from the men’s squad, as well as Eva Burlingham, Julie Ogden, Jennifer Rey, Lindsay Schmidt, Haily VandePoel and Jenelle Zee from the women’s squad all received Honorable Mention All-America recognition.
The Honorable Mention Scholar All-America Award is presented to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester, or cumulative average, and have achieved a "B" time standard but did not qualify or compete in their respective national championship. Divers qualify by competing at their respective championship qualifying meets, zones or NCAA preliminary rounds.

Women's Soccer - 08/17/17
WVU's Abam Primed For Big Senior Season
Men's Soccer - 08/17/17
Piatczyc to Miss 2017 Season
Women's Soccer - 08/17/17
Top-Five Battle Awaits Mountaineers
Women's Soccer - 08/17/17
Two Home Matches Slated for TV