Meadows Receives 2017 Nickolich Award

  • By Mike Montoro
  • |
  • April 15, 2017 05:59 PM
  • |
MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – West Virginia University long snapper Nick Meadows, a redshirt senior from Williamstown, West Virginia, is the winner of the 2017 Tom Nickolich Memorial Award, as presented by the Blue and Gold News.
 At the conclusion of spring drills each year, the Blue and Gold News awards the Tom Nickolich Memorial Award to a walk-on team member who has distinguished himself through his attitude and work ethic. The award is presented in memory of Tom Nickolich, a former WVU player (1979-82) who died of cancer in 1983.
Meadows, a Williamstown High graduate, received the award from WVU head coach Dana Holgorsen before today’s Gold-Blue Spring Game. He has been a four-year member of the football team, seen action for three years and was the starting long snapper during the 2016 season. He is majoring in sport and exercise psychology.
Past Nickolich Award winners:
1991             Keith Taparausky, RB
1992             Ray Wilcox, LB
1993             Matt McCulty, WR
1994             Randy Fulmore, DB
1995             Rob Keys, DB
1996             Matt Ceresa, OL
1997             David Lightcap, DB
1998             Mark Corman, TE
1999             Bryan Lorenz, LB
2000             Ben Collins, LB
2001             Jeremy Knapp, TE
2002             Moe Fofana, RB
2003             John Pennington, WR
2004             Jeff Noechel, LB
2005             George Shehl, H/DB
2006             Tim Lindsey, LS
2007             Andy Emery, LB
2008             Adam Hughes, LS
2009             Josh Taylor, DL
2010             Matt Lindamood, FB
2011             Ryan Nehlen, WR
2012             Tyler Anderson, DE
2013             Connor Arlia, WR                       
2014             Michael Calicchio, OL
2015             Justin Arndt, LB
2016             Jon Lewis, TE
2017             Nick Meadows, LS